Literary Cabinet
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Literary Cabinet

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Just what I was looking for...

Go down 
+5
Paul
Kelsey
Louisa
BeautyBlitz
Spec Tac
9 posters
AuthorMessage
Spec Tac
Aspiring newbie
Aspiring newbie

Number of posts : 39
Registration date : 2009-06-27

Just what I was looking for... Empty
PostSubject: Just what I was looking for...   Just what I was looking for... EmptySat Jun 27, 2009 8:25 pm

My Name is Nick and I live in New England. I'm an aspiring writer and obsessive reader. I write all types of short stories and don't want to stick to any form, genre, or style. I've tossed around and sketched out many storyboards for a novel, but haven't yet set up to tackle writing one yet. I want to study the fundamentals a bit more.

But first, I thought I'd share a bit about what I read. I read to improve my literary perspective, and hopefully incorporate a bit of everything I find interesting into my own work. Like music, I don't stick to any one genre. I'll read pretty much anything except romance (just as I listen to pretty any music except Country). Some of my favorite authors include Irvine Welsh, Hubert Selby Jr., SOME Chuck Phalinuk (sp?), and Isaac Asimov. BUT, I have only really seriously focused on my reading and writing pasion for about a year or so now, so I have a long list of authors I want to read. I also enjoy a lot of the independent publications, such as one called Barrelhouse, which is a publication of short stories and poetry from independent, non-famous writers. Right now I'm reading Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut, and just finished The Metamorphisis by Franz Kafka (but only skimmed through a lot of the professional literary interpretaion that consisted of the bulk of the book).